Roundtree, Cornelius leave SIU

Additional quotes from the developing story that freshman guard Torres Roundtree and junior forward Christian Cornelius have left the SIU men’s basketball team.

Torres Roundtree:

  • On the future of SIU basketball:  “The freshmen are good. Justin Bocot, Anthony Booker and Kevin Dillard are all good and they have a bright future because the talent is there.
  • On whether or not he will continue his basketball career:  “I still have aspirations of playing basketball, so I’m just going to see whoever wants me and try to go there.”
  • On whether or not he will finish the academic year at SIU: “I don’t know yet, I just want to do what’s right for me.”

Christian Cornelius:

  • On leaving the team because of injuries: “I always had thoughts (of leaving) in the back of my mind from the beginning of the season, and I feel really bad because the coaches allowed me to return to the team and I really appreciate them for that.”
  • On his injuries: “My doctor told me after my injury that I wouldn’t be able to play again, so it really was supposed to be a career-ending injury.  But in the back of my mind I told myself I wouldn’t give up on myself.”
  • On his future after basketball: “I want to go somewhere and get my masters, that’s the main thing right now.”
  • On whether or not he left because of the system. “My reasons for leaving have nothing to do with the program.  I have a lot of love and respect for Coach Lowery.”

Losing both Roundtree and Cornelius will be tough on SIU for the remainder of the season as their departures have shortened the team’s depth, which was considered to be one of the team’s strengths coming into the season.  The 6-foot-3 Roundtree was a finalist for Mr. Show-Me Basketball in his senior year at McCluer North High School in St. Louis and provided athleticism and the ability to attack the basket.

Cornelius, the 6-foot-7 junior from Oak Park, was limited by injuries throughout his career as a Saluki, but led the team in field goal percentage this year, shooting 54 percent.

Leave a comment